Boks call on Moodie for Sydney strike

Teenager Canan Moodie will make his Test debut in an overhauled Springbok squad chosen for the Rugby Championship rematch against the Wallabies in Sydney on Saturday.

The starting lineup features eight changes in response to Handre Pollard, Lukhanyo Am and Pieter-Steph du Toit being ruled out due to knee injuries, while Elton Jantjies is out with a hand complaint. Damian Willemse has consequently been selected at flyhalf, Jesse Kriel slots in at centre and Franco Mostert has been included in the loose trio.

KEO: Delight as Damian starts at 10

The 19-year-old Moodie earns his first start on the right wing, bumping Warrick Gelant to the bench, while the experienced Willie le Roux takes over from Willemse at fullback. The remaining change in the backline is at scrumhalf where Jaden Hendrikse takes over from Faf de Klerk.

Apart from Mostert’s inclusion among the forwards, prop Steven Kitshoff and hooker Malcolm Marx form a revised front row with Frans Malherbe, while Jasper Wiese takes over at No 8 from Duane Vermeulen, who will provide an impact off the replacements bench.

These changes bring a reshuffle of the front row to the bench, with Deon Fourie serving as the replacement hooker, and Ox Nche and Trevor Nyakane providing cover at prop.

Among the backs, Cobus Reinach will serve as backup for Hendrikse at scrumhalf, with Frans Steyn providing cover at flyhalf and centre, while Gelant will offer options on the wing and fullback.

READ: Keo makes 10 changes to Bok XV

Springboks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Canan Moodie, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Jaden Hendrikse, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Kwagga Smith, 20 Duane Vermeulen, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Frans Steyn, 23 Warrick Gelant.

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

Post by