Brache wings it for Force

Marcel Brache, formerly of Western Province, will wear the Force's No 11 jersey against the Waratahs in Sydney.

Brache, who joined the Perth-based team last year, will earn his 11th Vodacom Super Rugby cap on Sunday.

Another South African, Sias Ebersohn, will start at flyhalf, with ex-Sharks loose forward Brynard Stander and former UCT loosehead prop Francois van Wyk on the bench.

Lock Sam Wykes will captain the Force in the absence of Matt Hodgson, who will be sidelined until after the week-eight bye with a hamstring injury.

Flanker Chris Alcock, whose 2014 season was limited to just three matches due to a shoulder injury, makes his return to the starting XV, while Kyle Godwin will make his first Super Rugby start in the No 13 jersey having previously run on at inside centre in 24 of his 27 matches.

On the bench, lock/flanker Steve Mafi is in line for his first appearance in Super Rugby after joining the Force from the Leicester Tigers.

Force – 15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Solomoni Jnr Rasolea, 11 Marcel Brache, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Sam Wykes (c), 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2. Nathan Charles, 1 Pek Cowan.
Subs: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Oliver Hoskins, 19 Steve Mafi, 20 Brynard Stander, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Zack Holmes, 23 Luke Burton.

Super Rugby teams (Round 1)

Photo: Michael Dodge/Getty Images

Post by