Brisbane City win NRC

Brisbane City beat Perth Spirit 37-26 in the inaugural National Rugby Championship final at Ballymore.

After finishing third and fourth on the log, both sides put on a show of high-quality rugby in front of a 7,889-strong crowd.

Brisbane's success was largely thanks to a dominant pack as they scored a penalty try while loosehead prop Pettowa Paraka touched down either side of half-time.

In a fitting finish, Brisbane winger Junior Laloifi raced down the left-hand sideline and beat three Perth defenders to score his side's fifth try five minutes from time.

Brisbane City flank Liam Gill was named Man of the Match.

Brisbane City – Tries: Liam Gill, penalty try, Pettowa Paraka (2), Junior Laloifi. Conversions: Jake McIntyre (4).
Perth Spirit – Tries: Junior Rasolea, Dane Haylett-Petty, Robbie Abel, Davis Tavita. Conversions: Zack Holmes (2).

Brisbane City – 15 Brando Va'aulu, 14 Chris Kuridrani, 13 Toby White, 12 Jack Mullins, 11 Mathew Feaunati, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 Nick Frisby, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Curtis Browning, 5 David McDuling, 4 Marco Kotze, 3 Sef Faagase, 2 Andrew Ready, 1 Pettowa Paraka.
Subs: 16 Mathew Mafi, 17 David Feao, 18 Phil Kite, 19 Tim Buchanan, 20 Adam Korczuk, 21 Will Thompson, 22 James Dalgleish, 23 Laloifi Junior Laloifi.

Perth Spirit – 15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Junior Rasolea, 12 Ammon Matuauto, 11 Marcel Brache, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Ian Prior, 8 Alex Rovira, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Brynard Stander, 5 Brent Murphy, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Oli Hoskins, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Pek Cowan.
Subs: 16 Harry Scoble, 17 Joe Savage, 18 Chris Heiberg, 19 Kieran Stringer, 20 Richard Hardwick, 21 Justin Turner, 22 Davis Tavita, 23 Christian Joubert.

Photo: Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt