Bulls unveil squad for Rainbow Cup final

Jake White has made three changes to the Bulls starting lineup ahead of Saturday’s Rainbow Cup final against Benetton in Treviso.

From the team that did battle against the Sharks a week ago, Chris Smith will start at flyhalf in the absence Morne Steyn, while Nizaam Carr has been named at openside flank with Marco van Staden also at the Boks.

Jan Uys slots in at lock in the No 5 jersey as Janko Swanepoel drops to the bench, where Springbok prop Lizo Gqoboka and Zak Burger will also feature.

“Even though it’s such a huge honour to be part of this historic game, we must remember that we are here on a mission,” Jake White commented. ‘A mission to return to South Africa with the Rainbow Cup. I’ve asked the boys to enjoy every moment of this experience, as they have worked really hard and been committed to our goals.

“Being in this final is the first part of their reward, lifting the trophy will be their ultimate reward. Benetton is a great team, and have been in amazing form this season and it is a privilege going up against them in the final.”

Benetton, the Italian outfit, are the only unbeaten side across both sections of the competition, a stunning turnaround after their winless 2020-21 Guinness PRO14 campaign.

The Bulls finished eight points clear at the top of the South African standings after losing only one of their six Rainbow Cup fixtures, earning their place in the long-awaited first cross-hemisphere clash of the competition. This is the Bulls first trip to Italy and the two sides have never met before in any tournament.

15. David Kriel (Betway Centurion)
14. Madosh Tambwe (Pretoria)
13. Marco Jansen van Vuren (Pretoria)
12. Cornal Hendricks (Northam)
11. Stravino Jacobs (Harlequins)
10. Chris Smith (Harlequins)
9. Ivan van Zyl (Tuine)
8. Marcell Coetzee (ABE Midas Naka Bulle – C)
7. Ruan Nortje (ABE Midas Naka Bulle)
6. Nizaam Carr (Betway Centurion)
5. Jan Uys (Pretoria)
4. Walt Steenkamp (Betway Centurion)
3. Mornay Smith (Betway Centurion)
2. Johan Grobbelaar (Tukkies)
1. Gerhard Steenekamp (ABE Midas Naka Bulle)

16. Schalk Erasmus (Tuine)
17. Jacques van Rooyen (Tuine)
18. Lizo Gqoboka (ABE Midas Naka Bulle)
19. Janko Swanepoel (Pretoria)
20. Muller Uys (Tukkies)
21. Zak Burger (Tuine)
22. Clinton Swart (Tukkies)
23. Gio Aplon (Betway Centurion)

24. Robert Hunt (Harlequin)
25. Keagan Johannes (Tukkies)
26. WJ Steenkamp (Tuine)
27. Dawid Kellerman (Pretoria)
28. Sydney Tobias (Northam)

Post by