Burgess, Farrell start for England

Sam Burgess will start at inside centre when England take on Wales at Twickenham on Saturday.

The league convert will combine with South African-born Brad Barritt in the midfield, with the latter shifting to outside centre in place of the injured Jonathan Joseph.

As reported by British media earlier in the week, coach Stuart Lancaster has also decided to start with Owen Farrell at flyhalf instead of young George Ford.

In the only other changes to England’s starting lineup that featured in their World Cup opener against Fiji, abrasive Billy Vunipola will start at No 8 in place of the injured Ben Morgan.

England – 15 Mike Brown, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Brad Barritt, 12 Sam Burgess, 11 Jonny May, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Chris Robshaw (c), 6 Tom Wood, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Geoff Parling, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Tom Youngs, 1 Joe Marler.
Subs: 16 Rob Webber, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Kieran Brookes, 19 Joe Launchbury, 20 James Haskell, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 George Ford, 23 Alex Goode.

Photo: BackpagePix

Post by