Carr, Pollard could win big

Nizaam Carr and Handré Pollard lead the full list of nominees released by Saru for its annual awards, which will take place on 8 February in Midrand.

Carr and Pollard, both of whom made their Test debuts for the Springboks this season, have been nominated in three categories.

The 23-year-old Carr has been nominated in for the Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year and Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year.

Pollard, who is only 20, has been nominated in the categories for Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year and U20 Player of the Year.

Hot on their heels, with two nominations each, are fellow Springboks Duane Vermeulen and Marcell Coetzee (both in the categories for Player and Super Rugby Player of the Year), as well as Springbok Sevens ace Seabelo Senatla (Young Player and Sevens Player of the Year).

Neil Powell, Allister Coetzee and Johan Ackermann will battle it out for the title of Coach of the Year while their respective teams, the Springbok Sevens, Western Province and Golden Lions have been nominated with the Springboks and Junior Springboks in the category for Team of the Year.

The public vote in the Rugby Player, Young Player and Team of the Year categories, through a number of online channels, will come to an end at 2pm on Friday. To vote via Twitter, simply click here or cast your vote through the online Springbok magazine.

Saru awards nominations for 2014:

Player of the Year
Nizaam Carr
Marcell Coetzee
Willie le Roux
Handré Pollard
Duane Vermeulen

Young Player of the Year:
Nizaam Carr
Cheslin Kolbe
Handré Pollard
Seabelo Senatla
Jan Serfontein

Team of the Year
Junior Springboks
Springbok Sevens
Golden Lions (Currie Cup)
Western Province (Currie Cup)

Coach of the Year
Johan Ackermann (Golden Lions)
Allister Coetzee (Western Province)
Neil Powell (Springbok Sevens)

U20 Player of the Year
Thomas du Toit
Jesse Kriel
Handré Pollard

Sevens Player of the Year:
Branco du Preez
Frankie Horne
Seabelo Senatla

Super Rugby Player of Year
Marcell Coetzee (Sharks)
Duane Vermeulen (Stormers)
Warren Whiteley (Lions)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year
Renaldo Bothma (Pumas)
Jonathan Francke (Griquas)
Lizo Gqoboka (EP Kings)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year
Nizaam Carr (Western Province)
Juan de Jongh (Western Province)
Jaco Kriel (Golden Lions)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year
Boela Abrahams (Griffons)
Sylvian Mahuza (Leopards)
Dillon Smit (Leopards)

Note: Other awards that will be presented are in the categories of Players’ Player of the Year, Try of the Year, Craven Week Player of the Year, Referee Award, Women’s Player of the Year and Community Cup Player of the Tournament.

Outstanding individuals, teams and moments of 2014 Test season

Jon Cardinelli's 2014 Test Team of the Year

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by