Crotty gets starting role

Ryan Crotty will start at inside centre, in one of three changes to the All Blacks team to face Australia in Auckland on Saturday.

Crotty will make his first start in the famous black jersey after Ma'a Nonu was ruled out with the shoulder injury he suffered in the 12-12 draw.

Hurricanes centre Conrad Smith, who missed the opening fixture to attend the birth of his first child, returns to take his place outside of Crotty.

In other changes to the squad, Liam Messam returns to the run-on team in the blindside role, while Charlie Faumuina is back from illness and will take his place on the bench.

The All Blacks are looking to extend their unbeaten run at Eden Park, which spans 32 matches and goes back to 1994.

New Zealand – 15 Ben Smith, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Wyatt Crockett
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Malakai Fekitoa.

Rugby Championship teams (Round 2)

Photo: Phil Walter/Getty Images