Crusaders, Blues dominate Aotearoa team of the tournament

The Crusaders and Blues have contributed five players each to Sanzaar’s Super Rugby Aotearoa team of the tournament.

The Crusaders have five players in the team of the tournament as do the Blues, who finished in second place six points behind the winners after suffering two defeats. The Blues provide half of the pack including impressive No 8 Hoskins Sotutu and their captain and lock, Patrick Tuipulotu.

ALSO READ: Squads for North vs South selected

In third were the Hurricanes who have two players in the team, including feisty centre Ngani Laumape despite him missing the last few rounds through injury.

Also supplying two players to the team are the last-placed Chiefs, who are represented by openside flank Lachlan Boshier and centre Anton Leinert-Brown. The Highlanders, who finished fourth, have just one player in the team in blindside flank Shannon Frizell.

The Super Rugby Aotearoa team of the season
The Super Rugby Aotearoa team of the season

The Opta Perform index has also drawn Crusaders flyhalf Richie Mo’unga as the player of the tournament. Mo’unga was masterful in driving the Crusaders around the field, kicked his goals and was a constant threat to the defensive lines of the opposition. He played in all their matches and scored the most points (99) of any player including three tries.

Photo: Kai Schwoerer/Getty Images