Daniel to lead Sharks

Keegan Daniel will captain the Sharks, with five changes to their starting lineup, against the Chiefs in New Plymouth on Friday.

Daniel replaces Beast Mtawarira as captain, with the prop being rested as per Springbok requirements.

The flanker last captained the Sharks in Super Rugby in 2013, before Bok hooker Bismarck du Plessis was handed the role by then coach Jake White in 2014. Daniel left the Sharks to play in Japan later that year.

Joining him in the loose trio, is Daniel du Preez starting at No 8 in place of the injured Philip van der Walt, who has returned home.

In a new front row, Dale Chadwick comes in for Mtawarira, Kyle Cooper replaces Franco Marais at hooker, while Lourens Adriaanse starts at tighthead prop ahead of Coenie Oosthuizen, who shifts to the bench.

In the backline, Michael Claassens starts at scrumhalf in place of the injured Cobus Reinach. Stefan Ungerer, who joined the squad this week, is named on the bench with Odwa Ndungane, who comes in for S’bura Sithole.

Sharks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Garth April, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel (c), 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Jean Deysel, 21 Stefan Ungerer, 22 Joe Pietersen, 23 Odwa Ndungane.

Super Rugby teams (Round 10)

Photo: Marty Melville/Getty Images