De Jongh assumes Stormers captaincy

Juan de Jongh has recovered from injury to lead the Stormers against the Waratahs in Sydney on Saturday.

De Jongh was an 11th-hour withdrawal from the match against the Hurricanes due to an ankle knock, but will take his place in the Stormers midfield and assume the leadership responsibilities in the absence of Duane Vermeulen, who is back in South Africa as part of the rest agreement with Saru.

Nizaam Carr will take over Vermeulen's No 8 jersey, with Schalk Burger shifting to the openside and Michael Rhodes making his first start since injuring his knee against the Lions in February.

Elsewhere in the pack, Frans Malherbe will make his first start of 2015 in place of Vincent Koch, who moves to the bench.

He is joined by Jean Kleyn, who replaces Ruan Botha as cover for the second row, while Huw Jones reverts to the bench after starting in place of De Jongh last weekend.

Stormers – 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (c), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones.

Super Rugby teams (Round 9)

Photo: John Cowpland/Photosport