De Jongh gets Baa-Baas start

Western Province captain Juan de Jongh will start at outside centre for the Barbarians in their match against Australia at Twickenham on Saturday.

Fresh from leading WP to the Currie Cup title at the weekend, De Jongh will turn out against the Wallabies after failing to make Heyneke Meyer's end-of-year squad.

The fleet-footed centre has been in sparkling form this season and will combine with the imposing Francis Saili to form a dynamic looking midfield combination for the Baa-Baas. Coach John Kirwan has opted for a strong contingent from his homeland, with 10 Kiwis selected in the starting XV.

However, the New Zealander has selected five South Africans on the bench, where Heinrich Brüssow will get a chance to show what he can do on the international stage as he looks to force his way back into the Springbok fold for the first time since 2011.

Barbarians – 15 Tim Nanai-Williams, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Francis Saili, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Steve Luatua, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Alastair Kellock, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Angus Ta'avao, 2 James Parsons, 1 Matt Stevens.
Subs: 16 Mo Schwalger, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Heinrich Brüssow, 20 Matias Alemanno, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Joaquin Tuculet, 23 Marnitz Boshoff.

Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images