Deysel to skipper Sharks

Jean Deysel will lead the Sharks against the Force in Durban on Saturday, with Frans Steyn starting at flyhalf.

Deysel, who recently returned to the Sharks following a stint in Japan, comes into the side in place of Marcell Coetzee and will take over the captaincy duties from the suspended Bismarck du Plessis.

Du Plessis' place in the front row is taken by Kyle Cooper, while the Sharks are boosted by news that both Mouritz Botha and Beast Mtawarira are fit to play after taking heavy blows against the Chiefs.

As expected the Springbok duo of Pat Lambie and Cobus Reinach have been rested, meaning a new halfback pairing for the Sharks. Conrad Hoffman comes into the side at scrumhalf while Steyn shifts to flyhalf, with André Eterhuizen taking over at inside centre.

However, the Sharks will only discover the outcome of the appeal against Steyn's not guilty verdict tomorrow, meaning the side may be subject to change.

Sharks – 15 SP Marais, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frans Steyn, 9 Conrad Hoffmann, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel (c), 6 Renaldo Bothma, 5 Marco Wentzel, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20 Daniel du Preez, 21 Stefan Ungerer, 22 Fred Zeilinga, 23 Waylon Murray.

Super Rugby teams (Round 7)

Photo: Sabelo Mngoma/BackpagePix