Double blow for All Blacks

Brodie Retallick and Wyatt Crockett have been ruled out of New Zealand's match against the Boks at Ellis Park on Saturday.

Retallick (concussion) is replaced by Jeremy Thrush, who gets his second start against South Africa this year.

In the only other change to the starting XV that beat Argentina last weekend, loosehead prop Joe Moody will make his first Test start, coming in for Wyatt Crockett, who received a bad cut under his eye that required stitches.

On the reserves bench, Dane Coles returns after re-joining the team in South Africa following the birth of his son, with Charlie Faumuina, Steven Luatua and Liam Messam also coming onto the bench.

In the back reserves, Tawera Kerr-Barlow gets his first opportunity in the Rugby Championship while Ryan Crotty comes in for Cory Jane who has a hamstring strain.

All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Joe Moody.
Subs: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Colin Slade, 23 Ryan Crotty.

Photo: Phil Walter/Getty Images

Post by