Du Preez returns for Stormers

Rob du Preez will start at flyhalf when the Stormers host the Chiefs in Saturday’s quarter-final at Newlands.

With Jean-Luc du Plessis ruled out with an ankle injury, Du Preez makes a timely return to the starting lineup after working his way back from a serious knee injury.

The only other change to the backline sees Nic Groom return at scrumhalf in place of Louis Schreuder.

In the tight five, Bongi Mbonambi will start at hooker ahead of Scarra Ntubeni, while locks Eben Etzebeth and Pieter-Steph du Toit return to the starting lineup after being rested last weekend.

Stormers – 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Schalk Burger (c), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Ezebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Subs: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Frans Malherbe (c), 19 JD Schickerling, 20 Rynhardt Elstadt, 21 Nizaam Carr, 22 Louis Schreuder, 23 Brandon Thomson.

Super Rugby teams (Quarter-finals)

Photo: Thinus Maritz/Gallo Images

Post by

Craig Lewis