Eben to lead Stormers

Eben Etzebeth will captain the Stormers against the Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday.

Regular captain Siya Kolisi is not available for selection due to the Springbok management plan, with Etzebeth set to lead the side for the second time this season, having also done so against the Kings in Port Elizabeth.

Pieter-Steph du Toit moves from lock to blindside flank to take Kolisi's place, while Chris van Zyl comes in to partner Etzebeth in the second row.

The only other change in the forward pack is a rotational switch at tighthead prop, with Wilco Louw coming in for Frans Malherbe.

In the backline, Dillyn Leyds moves from wing to fullback in place of the injured SP Marais, while Bjorn Basson lines up on the left wing.

At scrumhalf, Dewaldt Duvenage returns to scrumhalf after being rested last week, with Jano Vermaak moving to the bench.

Coach Robbie Fleck said that following a productive week on tour, his team was ready to embrace the challenge that the Crusaders will pose.

'We have put some good plans in place and have trained well this week, so the players are all looking forward to getting out there and showing what they are capable of.

'We know that we face an unbeaten team on Saturday, so this will be a great opportunity to test ourselves and see where we are as a group.'

Stormers – 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Eben Etzebeth (c), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Subs: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Cobus Wiese, 21 Jano Vermaak, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Dan Kriel.

Super Rugby teams (Round 9)

Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images

Post by

Craig Lewis