Engelbrecht issued warning

Bulls centre JJ Engelbrecht has been issued with a citing commissioner warning following his side's 29-17 loss to the Stormers at Loftus on Saturday.

Engelbrecht has been found guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (e) for a dangerous tackle on Stormers scrumhalf Nic Groom.

The incident in question occurred in the 26th minute of the match, with referee Jaco Peyper awarding a penalty to the Stormers for the tackle, which was late, high and didn't involve any use of the arms.

Upon further review of the match footage, the citing commissioner deemed a warning was appropriate.

A warning may be issued by the Sanzar citing commissioner for foul play incidents that are very close to, but in his opinion do not meet the red card threshold for citings.

A player who has received three yellow cards or three citing commissioner warnings (or any combination thereof) in the same Vodacom Super Rugby competition shall be required to appear before the duty judicial officer appointed for the match during which he last offended.

Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix