England name first 30 for New Zealand

England have announced squads for the four-match tour of New Zealand next month and the game against the Barbarians.

Thirty players will fly to Auckland on Tuesday, 27 May, and be available for the first Test at Eden Park on Saturday, 7 June.

A further group will leave on Monday, 2 June following the Premiership final between Saracens and the Northampton Saints (31 May) and the England XV vs Barbarians match at Twickenham (1 June).

England squad flying to New Zealand on 27 May:

Props: Joe Marler (Harlequins), Matt Mullan (London Wasps), Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons), Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks), David Wilson (Bath)
Hookers: Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Joe Gray (Harlequins), Dave Ward (Harlequins), Rob Webber (Bath)
Locks: Dave Attwood (Bath), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)
Loose forwards: James Haskell (London Wasps), Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs), Matt Kvesic (Gloucester), Ben Morgan (Gloucester), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Scrumhalves: Danny Care (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
Flyhalves: Freddie Burns (Gloucester), Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)
Centres: Kyle Eastmond (Bath), Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Henry Trinder (Gloucester), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester)
Back three: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Jonny May (Gloucester), Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors), Marland Yarde (London Irish)

England squad for Barbarians game:

Props: Nathan Catt (Bath), Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks), Will Collier (Harlequins), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Hooker: Rob Buchanan (Harlequins), Tommy Taylor (Sale Sharks)
Locks: Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers), Charlie Matthews (Harlequins), Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks)
Loose forwards: Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs), James Gaskell (Sale Sharks), Jamie Gibson (Leicester Tigers), Luke Wallace (Harlequins)
Scrumhalves: Dan Robson (Gloucester), Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
Flyhalf: Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Centres: Ollie Devoto (Bath), Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Jonathan Joseph (Bath)
Back three: Elliot Daly (London Wasps), Rob Miller (Sale Sharks), Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath), Charlie Sharples (Gloucester)

England fixtures:

Sunday, 1 June: England XV vs Barbarians, Twickenham
Saturday, 7 June: 1st Test vs New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland
Saturday, 14 June: 2nd Test vs New Zealand, – Otago Stadium, Dunedin
Tuesday, 17 June: vs Crusaders, Addington Stadium, Christchurch
Saturday, 21 June: 3rd Test vs New Zealand, Waikato Stadium, Hamilton

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt