England set up thrilling finale

England kept their Six Nations title hopes alive with a 25-13 win against Scotland at Twickenham on Saturday.

Stuart Lancaster's men are now top of the log with six points and a points difference of +37. Ireland and Wales also have six points with points differences of +35 and +12 respectively.

The final round of matches next weekend see England hosting France at Twickenham, Wales travelling to Rome to face Italy, and Ireland taking on Scotland at Murrayfield.

England made a strong start to this match when Jack Nowell broke away into Scotland's half, and a flat pass from George Ford a few phases later saw Jonathan Joseph step inside past Stuart Hogg to score a converted try.

But Scotland levelled the scores at the end of the first quarter when a smart lineout move and a strong run from Rob Harley was followed by a try to Mark Bennett in the right-hand corner.

Greig Laidlaw slotted the conversion and added two penalties, with Ford kicking one, which saw the visitors lead 13-10 at the break.

But England regained the ascendency early in the second half when Ford scored under the posts after Mike Brown had been stopped just short.

Ford kicked the conversion and then added a penalty to make it 20-13 after 50 minutes.

Ford's next penalty attempt, with six minutes to go, hit the post, but it allowed England to stay on the attack and score a third try through Jack Nowell that sealed the win.

England – Tries: Jonathan Joseph, George Ford, Jack Nowell. Conversions: Ford (2). Penalties: Ford (2).
Scotland – Try: Mark Bennett. Conversion: Greig Laidlaw. Penalties: Laidlaw (2).

England – 15 Mike Brown, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 Jack Nowell, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Chris Robshaw (c), 6 James Haskell, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Dave Attwood, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Joe Marler.
Subs: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Kieran Brookes, 19 Geoff Parling, 20 Tom Wood, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Danny Cipriani, 23 Billy Twelvetrees.

Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Dougie Fife, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (c), 8 David Denton, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Robert Harley, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Jim Hamilton, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Subs: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Ryan Grant, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Johnnie Beattie, 21 Adam Ashe, 22 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 23 Greig Tonks.

Photo: Clive Rose/Getty Images

Post by