EP Kings end Sharks’ unbeaten run

The Sharks XV were handed their first defeat in the Vodacom Cup by the EP Kings, who won 27-11 at Kings Park.

Tries from Sergeal Petersen, Ntabeni Dukisa and Brian Skosana helped the Kings to only their third win of the tournament, but the hosts were safe on top of the South Section log and will play their quarter-final at home against the Golden Lions.

South Western Districts shocked Western Province with a 23-14 win at Outeniqua Park in George. Province, who were still in with a shout at securing a home quarter-final, couldn’t claw their way back after trailing 10-0 at the break. They eventually conceded two converted tries and three penalties.

Free State overpowered the Tusker Simba XV 77-10. The 13-try drubbing moved them above WP on the log, thus securing a home quarter-final against the Blue Bulls. This means Western Province will have to travel to Nelpruit to face the Pumas.

The Pumas, thanks to 13 points from flyhalf JC Roos, beat the Golden Lions 48-27 in Alberton. The Lions, who ran in five tries, still qualified for the play-offs.

Griquas beat the Leopards with a bonus-point 32-8 win to secure a home quarter-final against SWD. They crossed the line four times and conceded one try.

The Blue Bulls gave the Limpopo Blue Bulls another hundred-plus defeat, trouncing them 116-0 in Pretoria.

In matches that had no bearing on the play-offs, the Border Bulldogs went down 41-17 to the Boland Kavaliers, while the Griffons recorded a 41-17 win over the Valke in Kempton Park, scoring six tries to two.

Sharks XV (11) – Try: Sizo Maseko. Penalties: Jean-Luc du Plessis (2).
EP Kings (27) – Tries: Sergeal Petersen, Ntabeni Dukisa, Brian Skosana. Conversions: Dukisa (2), Kayle van Zyl. Penalties: Dukisa, Van Zyl..

SWD (23) – Tries: Daniel Roberts, Alshaun Bock. Conversions: Karlo Aspeling (2). Penalties: Aspeling (3).
WP (14) – Tries: Gary van Aswegen, Rohan Kitshoff. Conversions: Robert du Preez, Freddie Muller.

Leopards XV (8) – Try: Jaco Buys. Penalty: Gerhard Nortier.
Griquas (32) – Tries: Ederies Arendse, Leon Karemaker, Gouws Prinsloo, Burger Schoeman. Conversions: Prinsloo (3). Penalty: Prinsloo. Drop goal: Rocco Jansen.

Free State XV (77) – Tries: Zingisa April (4), Tienie Burger, Maphuta Dolo, Joubert Engelbrecht, Peet Coetzee (2), Nico Lee (2), Renier Botha, Henco Greyling. Conversions: Pieter-Steyn de Wet (5). Sino Ganto.
Tusker Simba XV (10) – Try: Moses Amusala. Conversion: Eden Kochieng. Penalty: Kenny AbdolaDevlin Hope, Ettienne Taljaard, Vince Gwavu. Conversion: Kyle Hendricks.

Blue Bulls (116) – Tries: Waylon Murray, Hencus van Wyk, Clayton Blommetjies, Burger Odendaal (2), David Bulbring, Wiaan Liebenberg (2), Jesse Kriel, Sampie Mastriet (3), Lohan Jacobs, Clyde Davids, Joshua Stander, Reniel Hugo, Arno van Wyk, Kefentse Mahlo. Conversions: Tian Schoeman (8), Stander (5).
Limpopo Blue Bulls (0).

Golden Lions (27) – Tries: Selom Gavor, Stephan de Witt, Ruaan Lerm, Hugo Kloppers, Ruhan Nel. Conversion: Willie du Plessis.
Pumas (48) – Tries: JC Roos, Hennie Skorbinski, Corne Steenkamp, Ruwellyn Isbell, Renaldo Botham (2), Lubabalo Mtyanda, Reynier van Rooyen. Conversions: Roos (4).

Boland Kavaliers (41) – Tries: Christian Rust (2), Albert Trytsman, Franzel September, Arno Fortuin, Clemen Lewis. Conversions: Christian Rust (4). Penalties: Christian Rust
Border Bulldogs (17) – Tries: Johannes Jonker, Lolo Waka. Conversions: Bangihlombe Kobese (2). Penalty: Bangihlombe Kobese.

Valke (41) – Tries: Devlin Hope, Ettienne Taljaard, Vince Gwavu. Conversion: Kyle Hendricks.
Griffons (17) – Tries: Martin Sithole (2), Wynand Pienaar (2), Nicky Steyn, Inus Kritzinger. Conversions: Franna du Toit (3), Wynand Pienaar. Penalty: Franna du Toit.

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images.

Post by