Faf starts for Pumas

Faf de Klerk and Giant Mtyanda have been named in the Pumas lineup for their Currie Cup opener against the Sharks in Nelspruit on Friday.

Scrumhalf De Klerk – one of three players released from the Springbok squad on Tuesday – and prop Corné Fourie return to Nelspruit after spending the Vodacom Super Rugby season with the Lions, while Mtyanda will face the team he turned out for in the same competition.  

Coach MJ Mentz has appointed outside centre Stefan Watermeyer as the team captain for the season, while JW Bell will start at fullback in his 50th match for the Pumas.

Pumas – 15 JW Bell, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 Stefan Watermeyer (c), 11 Rosco Speckman, 10 Juan-Claude Roos, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Lambert Groenewald, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Giant Mtyanda, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 De-Jay Terblanché, 2 Frank Herne, 1 Khwezi Mona.
Subs: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 Corné Fourie, 18 Marius Coetzer, 19 Jason-Colin Fraser, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 Justin van Staden, 22 Hoffmann Maritz.

Photo: Manus van Dyk/Gallo Images

Post by