Folau takes top honours

Waratahs fullback Israel Folau has claimed the John Eales Medal after being named the Australian Player of the Year.

The rugby league convert has had a stellar year for both club and country, just two years after switch codes from league to union. Folau came out on top of Michael Hooper for the award, voted on by his international peers.

Hooper, who captained the Waratahs to their maiden Super Rugby title earlier this year, took home the Australia's Choice award voted for by fans, while the Waratahs team-mates shared the award for Super Rugby Player of the Year.

Newly-appointed Wallabies coach Michael Cheika was named Coach of the Year following his work with the Waratahs earlier in the year, while Melbourne Rebels flank Sean McMahon took home numerous awards following a breakout year.

2014 John Eales Medal Awards

John Eales Medal – Israel Folau
Wallabies Rookie of the Year – Sam Carter
Wallabies Try of the Year – Rob Horne (Wallabies v South Africa in Perth)
Australia's Choice Wallaby of the Year – Michael Hooper
Super Rugby Player of the Year – Israel Folau and Michael Hooper
Super Rugby Team of the Year – Waratahs
Super Rugby Coach of the Year – Michael Cheika
Super Rugby Rookie of the Year – Sean McMahon
Australian U20s Player of the Year – Sean McMahon
NRC Player of the Series – Sean McMahon

Photo: Matt King/Getty Images