Former Reds start for Rebels

Mike Harris and Dom Shipperley will start for the Rebels against the Crusaders in Christchurch on Friday.

The fullback and winger both played their rugby in Brisbane from 2011 to 2014 before moving to Melbourne.

Meanwhile, hooker Ben Whittaker and centre Sefanaia Naivalu have been named on the bench, and will also earn their first Rebels caps if they come on. Whittaker signed for the club after returning to Melbourne from Biarritz, while Naivalu could become the first ever player to represent the Rebels after being signed from a Victorian club.

Centre Tamati Ellison has returned from his playing stint in Japan’s Top League to resume his midfield partnership with Mitch Inman, while halfbacks Nic Stirzaker and Jack Debreczeni will pick up where they left off with the Melbourne Rising in the National Rugby Championship. 

Rebels – 15 Mike Harris, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Nic Stirzaker, 8 Scott Higginbotham (c), 7 Colby Fainga’a, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Lopeti Timani, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Toby Smith.
Subs: 16 Ben Whittaker, 17 Cruze Ah-Nau, 18 Paul Alo-Emile, 19 Sam Jeffries, 20 Scott Fuglistaller, 21 Luke Burgess, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Sefanaia Naivalu.

Super Rugby teams (Round 1)

Photo: Rebels

Post by