Four All Blacks added to World XV

A squad of 23-players has been named for the World XV's clash against the Springboks at Newlands on 7 June.

The final preparations are underway after New Zealand's Andrew Hore, Jimmy Cowan, Sitiveni Sivivatu and Rene Ranger were added to what is already a formidable squad.

The squad is comprised of players from eight countries, who boast a total of 707 Test caps between them.

New Zealand and South Africa are the most represented nations, with six players apiece. Schalk Ferreira and Rory Kockott are the only uncapped members of the squad, while Alistair Hargreaves, BJ Botha, Juandré Kruger and Schalk Brits round out the South African contingent.

The team will be coached by former Springbok coach Nick Mallett, who is confident of an entertaining match, despite the fact that his team will spend very little time together beforehand.

'I’m very happy that the final pieces of the jigsaw are now falling into place. Despite the very short preparation time, I’m really looking forward to getting together with this group of very talented players and preparing them for this match,' said Mallett. 'It promises to be a very exciting match, looking at the talent assembled in this strong squad. I’m sure they are all relishing the opportunity to play against the Springboks in South Africa.'

World XV squad:

Backs – James O’Connor (Australia), Drew Mitchell (Australia), Hosea Gear (New Zealand), Sitiveni Sivivatu (New Zealand), Aurelien Rougerie (France), Rene Ranger (New Zealand), Matt Giteau (Australia), François Trinh-Duc (France), Rory Kockott (South Africa), Jimmy Cowan (New Zealand).

Forwards – Steffon Armitage (England), Alexandre Lapandry (France), Roger Wilson (Ireland), Mamuka Gorgodze (Georgia), Alistair Hargreaves (South Africa), Joe Tekori (Samoa), Juandré Kruger (South Africa), Schalk Brits (South Africa), Andrew Hore (New Zealand), Schalk Ferreira (South Africa), Sona Taumalolo (Tonga), BJ Botha (South Africa) and Carl Hayman (New Zealand).

Photo: David Rodgers/Getty Images