France cut Kockott

New France coach Guy Noves has left Rory Kockott out of his first 30-man squad ahead of the Six Nations.

The former Sharks scrumhalf has 11 Test caps for his adopted nation, the last of which came off the bench in the 2015 World Cup quarter-final against the All Blacks.

Noves has called up five uncapped players: Toulouse scrumhalf Sebastien Bezy and flanker Yacouba Camara, Stade Français centre Jonathan Danty, Clermont lock Paul Jedrasiak and Bordeaux-Begles prop Jefferson Poirot.

The squad for the first game of the Six Nations, against Italy on 6 February, will be named on 19 January.

France squad:

Forwards – Uini Atonio, Eddy Ben Arous, Rabah Slimani, Jefferson Poirot, Benjamin Kayser, Yacouba Camara, Damien Chouly, Alexandre Flanquart, Loann Goujon, Guilhem Guirado, Paul Jedrasiak, Wenceslas Lauret, Bernard Le Roux, Yoann Maestri, Louis Picamoles, Sebastien Vahaamahina.

Backs – Sebastien Bezy, Hugo Bonneval, Jonathan Danty, Alexandre Dumoulin, Benjamin Fall, Gaël Fickou, Wesley Fofana, Remi Lamerat, Maxime Machenaud, Maxime Medard, Morgan Parra, Jules Plisson, Scott Spedding, Francois Trinh-Duc.

Photo: Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt