Griquas, Pumas ring changes

Griquas coach Hawies Fourie has named two debutants in his run-on side to face the Pumas in Nelspruit on Friday.

Ikeys flyhalf Dean Grant and flank Ruan Lem will make their Currie Cup debuts for Griquas, while Doppies le Grange and Neil Marais will follow suit from the bench. Francois Brummer, who started as pivot in the team's two previous matches, has shifted to fullback in order to accommodate the 2014 Varsity Cup winner.

In the forwards, Jonathan Adendorf has recovered from a groin injury to take his place in the second row, while Martin Bezuidenhout will start at hooker in place of Ryno Barnes, who drops to the bench.

Meanwhile, the Pumas have made a number of changes of their own following their defeat to the Sharks in round two. Coach Jimmy Stonehouse has opted for a new-look front row, with Vincent Koch the only survivor from the match at Kings Park. He switches to tighthead, while Swys du Toit and Corné Fourie will start alongside him.

There is no place for fullback JW Bell, who drops completely out of the match-day squad, while former Western Province scrumhalf Dylan Frylink will provide cover from the bench.

The last meeting between these two sides came in 2013, with the Pumas running out convincing 47-31 victors in Kimberley.

Pumas – 15 Heinrich Steyl, 14 Ruwellyn Isbell, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Trompie Pretorius, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Reynier van Rooyen, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Uzair Cassiem, 6 Corné Steenkamp (c), 5 Giant Mtyanda, 4 Frikkie Spies, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Swys du Toit, 1 Corné Fourie.
Subs: 16 Frankie Herne, 17 Dee-Day Terblanche, 18 Marius Coetzer, 19 Jaco Bouwer, 20 Dylan Frylink, 21 JC Roos, 22 Rosko Speckman.

Griquas – 15 Francois Brummer, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Jonathan Francke, 12 Wayne Stevens (c), 11 PJ Vermeulen, 10 Dean Grant, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Carel Greeff, 7 Ruan Lerm, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Jaco Nepgen, 4 Jonathan Adendorf, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 Steph Roberts.
Subs: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Maks van Dyk, 18 Hugo Kloppers, 19 RJ Liebenberg, 20 Abrie Griesel, 21 Doppies la Grange, 22 Niel Marais.

Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images