Hooper given Wallabies captaincy

Michael Hooper has replaced Stephen Moore as Wallabies captain for their match against Fiji in Melbourne on Saturday.

Tatafu Polota-Nau will start at hooker ahead of Moore, while Ned Hanigan and Karmichael Hunt will make their Test debuts at blindside flank and inside centre respectively.

'Tatafu has been challenging Stephen for the No 2 jersey for many years and his form has warranted his selection,' said Wallabies coach Michael Cheika. 'We're growing a young leadership team within our side and Michael is a key man in this. His leadership at the Tahs has been exceptional this year and we expect the same on Saturday for a big home Test against a very strong Fiji side.

'It's been great to see the energy that Ned and Karmichael have brought this week,' Cheika added. 'We know Test footy is a different beast and I know they have what it takes to step up.'

Cheika will name his bench players on Friday.

Wallabies – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Henry Speight, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Tom Robertson.
Subs: TBC

Photo: Richard Heathcote/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt