Impala to host Durbell in final

Defending champions Rustenburg Impala and Durbanville-Bellville will contest the 2015 Community Cup final after semi-final wins over Hamiltons and Despatch.

Impala, who are also the tournament hosts, booked their place in the final on Monday after they secured a thrilling 21-18 victory against Hamiltons in the second semi-final on Saturday.

Hamiltons dominated the opening exchanges, but their inability to capitalise on all their point-scoring chances and penalties conceded, resulted in the teams entering the break locked at 6-6. Impala, however, found their rhythm in the second half and scored two well-worked tries, but two tries by Hamiltons saw the match come down to the wire, with the hosts winning 21-18.

In the other semi-final, Durbell also used their point-scoring chances well in the first half against Despatch as they scored two tries to one and slotted over two penalties to take the lead at the break.

But Despatch bounced back strongly in the second half to force the match down to the wire in the final minute as the teams found themselves exchanging penalties. Durbell, however, held on until the final minute to shut out Despatch 29-27.

College Rovers, meanwhile, dominated territory and possession for most of their Plate semi-final against Wanderers, which placed them on the front foot for most of the match, and they held on for the 24-19 victory.

In the other Plate semi, Wesbank’s opportunistic nature allowed them to dominate the first half against Pretoria Police, but they were forced onto the back-foot in the second half as Police reverted to their structure and used their powerful forwards to stamp their authority up front. With the team back on form they scored a last-gasp try to secure a 36-31 victory.

Rustenburg Impala (21) – Tries: Aubrey McDonald, Mzivukile Duma. Conversion: Wilco de Wet. Penalties: De Wet (2). Drop Goal: Cecil Dumond.
Hamiltons (18) – Tries: Earl Lewis, Iewan Bartels. Conversion: Shane Vallender. Penalties: Monty Dumond (2).

Despatch (27) – Tries: Dumisani Meslane, Jaco Swanepoel, Justin Peach, Lesley Luiters. Conversions: Francois Nel, Peach. Penalty: Ryan Brown.
Durbell (29) – Tries: Douw Wessels, Renier Marais. Conversions: Garth April (2). Penalties: April (2), Raymond Olivier (3).

Wanderers (19) – Tries – Azola Mda, Dylan Rutherford, Sifiso Mgaga. Conversions: Craig Kolarik (2).
College Rovers (24) – Tries: Chris Jordaan (3), Paul Bester. Conversions: Chris Micklewood (2).

Wesbank (31) – Tries: Chrislyn van Schalkwyk (2), Johannes Slabber, Sedwell Diedericks. Conversions: Dashton Wellman (4). Penalty: Theodore Marinus.
Pretoria Police (36) – Tries: Birtie Powell, Daron Liebenberg, Hendrik van der Nest, Ian van Deventer, Nico Luus, Wynand de Sousa. Conversions: Dillon Laubscher (3).

Photo: ImageSA/Saru

Post by