Jantjies, Le Roux back for Boks against Scots

Elton Jantjies and Willie le Roux will both start in three changes to the Springbok team facing Scotland in Edinburgh this coming Saturday.

Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber made two rotational switches and one injury enforced change to the starting side that defeated Wales 23-18. Franco Mostert comes in at lock and Elton Jantjies earns a run at flyhalf, with both Lood de Jager and Handre Pollard moving to the replacements bench.

Mostert and Jesse Kriel will earn their 50th Test caps.

Le Roux has been named to take over at fullback from Damian Willemse, who has to follow concussion return-to-play protocols after taking a knock to the head last week.

The match will also be memorable for Steyn, who will edge Victor Matfield as the player with the longest Springbok career by becoming the first South African to play Test rugby over 15 calendar years, should he take the field.

Matfield’s career spanned over 14 years and 122 days, while Steyn – who has been on the winning side in 55 of his 72 Tests and scored 144 points – is in line to increase that mark to 15 years and two days in the second of three Tests in the Castle Lager Outgoing Tour on Saturday.

Angus Garner (Australia) has been appointed the match referee and he will be assisted by Wayne Barnes (England) and Craig Evans (Wales), with Brett Cronan (Australia) on TMO duty.

Springboks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Jesse Kriel, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Kwagga Smith, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ox Nche.
Subs: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Jasper Wiese, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 Frans Steyn.

What will happen at Murrayfield on Saturday?


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by SA Rugby magazine (@sarugbymag)

Post by