Jones leads Wales into battle

Alun Wyn Jones will captain an experienced Wales side as they begin the defence of their Six Nations crown against Italy at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday.

Jones, who last captained Wales against Italy in 2009, will start alongside Luke Charteris in the lock position.

Rhys Priestland starts at flyhalf with Justin Tipuric partnering Dan Lydiate and Toby Faletau in the back row. Former captain Sam Warburton has been dropped to the bench.

Centre Jamie Roberts makes a return and partners the in-form Scott Williams in midfield.

Wales – 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Scott Williams, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (c), 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Paul James.
Subs: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Ryan Bevington, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Andrew Coombs, 20 Sam Warburton, 21 Rhys Webb, 22 James Hook, 23 Liam Williams.

Photo: BackpagePix