Joost to be honoured by IRB

Joost van der Westhuizen is one of five Springbok legends set to be inducted into the International Rugby Board’s Hall of Fame in the next year.

The others are Naas Botha, Morné du Plessis, Danie Gerber and Hennie Muller.

Danie Craven, Bennie Osler, Frik du Preez, Francois Pienaar and John Smit are already part of the Hall of Fame.

Other big names in rugby to have been selected are Don Clarke, John Kirwan, Colin Meads, Grant Fox and Sean Fitzpatrick (all New Zealand), JPR Williams (Wales), Tim Horan (Australia) and Jean-Pierre Rives (France), as well as legendary Scottish commentator Bill McLaren.

IRB Hall of Fame inductees

Photo: Jon Buckle/Getty Images

Post by