Junior Boks change three

Western Province centre EW Viljoen will start for the Junior Springboks against Australia in Calvisano on Wednesday.

He replaces Blue Bulls centre JT Jackson, who played in the previous World Rugby U20 Championship matches against Italy and Samoa. Jackson drops out of the match-23.

Viljoen, who will anchor the midfield with provincial partner Daniel du Plessis, is one of two backline changes to the team that faced Samoa. His WP teammate Khanyo Ngcukana, who played against Italy in the opening match, reclaims his place in the starting XV in place of Grant Hermanus on the right wing.

WP flank Jacques Vermeulen, who started four matches for the Junior Boks in New Zealand last year and who came off the bench last Saturday, will start in the No 6 jersey. He swops places with Dan du Preez, who has been named among the replacements.

The match starts at 8:30pm and will be televised live on SuperSport.

Junior Springboks – 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Khanyo Ngcukana, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Daniel du Plessis, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Brendon Thomson, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 6 Jacques Vermeulen, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche.
Subs: 16 Jan van der Merwe, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Frans van Wyk, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Dan du Preez, 21 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 22 Tinus de Beer, 23 Grant Hermanus.

Photo: Roger Sedres/Image SA

Post by

Simon Borchardt