Liebenberg to lead Junior Boks

Vodacom Bulls loose forward Hanro Liebenberg will captain a 28-man Junior Springbok squad during their two-match series against Argentina next month.

Liebenberg led the Junior Boks in their victory over the Varsity Cup Dream Team in Stellenbosch last week and will continue in the role against Los Pumitas.

Coach Dawie Theron has named 17 forwards and 11 backs in his squad, as the Junior Boks continue their preparations for the World Rugby U20 Championship to be held in Italy in June.

'We only have three matches left before we play in the U20 Championship in Italy. Two are against Argentina U20 and the remaining outing will be against the WP Rugby Institute in Stellenbosch. So this tour is vital for our preparations,' Theron said. 'Argentina is a very tough team to play, especially on their home ground so we can brace ourselves for two tough, physical clashes.

'The boys did well to come out on top of a very good Varsity Cup Dream Team last week and now we will have another two matches to try our combinations and give much needed game time to our players.'

Sharks XV flyhalf Innocent Radebe, who impressed for the Varsity side against the Junior Boks last week, will miss the tour and the U20 Championship after being ruled out for up to eight weeks because of an ankle injury he sustained while on Vodacom Cup duty this past weekend.

Junior Boks squad – Hyron Andrews (Sharks, Garsfontein); Dan du Preez (Sharks, Kearsney); Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks, Kearsney); Thomas du Toit (Sharks, Paarl Boys’); Joseph Dwebe (Cheetahs, Florida/Louis Botha); Njabula Gumede (Bulls, Maritzburg College); Jason Jenkins (Bulls, St Alban’s College); Ruan Kramer (Cheetahs, Grey College); Hanro Liebenberg (Bulls, HTS Drostdy); Mzamo Majola (Sharks, Westville); Ox Nche (Cheetahs, Louis Botha); Abongile Nonkontwana (Bulls, St Alban’s College); RG Snyman (Bulls, Affies); Jan van der Merwe (Bulls, Pretoria Boys’); Frans van Wyk (Western Province, Monument); CJ Velleman (EP Kings, Grey High); Jacques Vermeulen (Western Province, Paarl Gym); Daniel du Plessis (Western Province, Paul Roos); Warrick Gelant (Bulls, Outeniqua); Grant Hermanus (Western Province, Paarl Gym); JT Jackson (Bulls, Oakdale); Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings, Die Brandwag); Marco Janse van Vuuren (Lions, Transvalia); Khanyo Ngcukana (Western Province ,Rondebosch); Ernst Stapelberg (Western Province, Framesby); Brandon Thomson (Western Province, Ermelo); Ivan van Zyl (Bulls, Affies); Leolin Zas (Western Province, Hermanus High).

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images