Lions prop cleared to play after biting citing dismissed

Kyle Sinckler’s citing for biting has been dismissed by an independent judicial committee who could not be satisfied that the Lions prop ‘committed an act of foul play’ against the Boks.

Sinckler attended an independent disciplinary hearing after he was cited by Scott Nowland (Australia) for an act of foul play contrary to Law 9.12 (biting) during the 64th minute of the second Test against South Africa in Cape Town.

Following the hearing, he has been cleared to take up his place on the Lions bench for this Saturday’s third and final Test.

‘The independent disciplinary committee chaired by Adam Casselden SC (Australia), joined by former international players David Croft and John Langford (both Australia), considered all the available evidence, including multiple broadcast angles, submissions from the player and his representative and expert witness testimony,’ a statement read.

ALSO READ: Perfectly balanced Boks in the best position possible to win the series

‘The player denied that he had committed an act of foul play worthy of a red card. Having reviewed all the evidence, the committee deemed that on the balance of probabilities, it could not be satisfied that the player committed an act of foul play. On that basis, the committee dismissed the citing and the player is free to play again immediately.’

ALSO WATCH: Did Hogg bite Le Roux?

Post by

Craig Lewis