Late Lions’ try sinks KZN

The Golden Lions defeated KwaZulu-Natal 22-17 on the opening day of the U16 Grant Khomo Week at the Tshwane University of Technology.

In an evenly contested first half, the sides traded converted tries and a penalty apiece as they headed into the break at 10-10. The second half delivered much of the same, with both sides again scoring one try each bringing the score to 17-17. But the drama continued, when Sam Eshun scored a late try to clinch the match for the Golden Lions.

In other results, Western Province humiliated Border 61-0 in the biggest win of the day, the Griffons beat Valke 19-12, the Blue Bulls XV thrashed Border CD 62-3, Zimbabwe caused an upset by beating Griquas 15-13, six second-half tries lifted Free State to a convincing 48-12 win over Eastern Province, Boland beat the Pumas 22-19, Griquas CD overcame a first-half deficit to beat the Leopards 14-12, Namibia saw off the Limpopo Blue Bulls 29-19 and the Blue Bulls demolished South Western Districts 40-19.

Golden Lions (22) – Tries: Sam Eshun, Stefan Moolman, Wandisile Simelane. Conversions: Simelane (2). Penalty: Simelane.
KwaZulu-Natal (17) – Tries: Bongani Tonny Mahlangu, Sibusiso Anele Hlophe. Conversions: Dylan Kruger (2). Penalty: Kruger.

Western Province (61) – Tries: Benjamin Momberg (2), Bernard Swart, Gianni Lombard, Khanya Ncusane (2), Lubello Scott, Wian Van Zyl (2). Conversions: Lombard (8).
Border (0)

Valke (6) – Penalties: Marthinus Johannes Holtzhausen (2).
Griffons (19) – Tries:  Duke Vincent Jantjies, Johannes van Huyssteen, Lubabalu Stan-Lee Mteyise. Conversions: Dylan Stiemmie (2).

Blue Bulls XV (62) – Tries: Calderon Levens (3), Denzel Liebenberg, Eduard Pretorius (2), Henro Conradie, Leon Pretorius, Lwandile Mabhongo, Tristan Janse van Vuuren. Conversions: Janse van Vuuren (6).
Border CD (3) – Penalty: Enrico Bokwe.

Griquas (13) – Tries: De-An Ackerman, Sergio Kasper. Penalty: Van Zyl Jacobs.
Zimbabwe (15) – Tries: Mufaro Mpisaunga, Nqobisile Ncube, Travis Landing.

Eastern Province (12) – Tries: Sazi Sandi, Sihle Njezula. Conversion: Vaughen Isaacs.
Free State (48) – Tries: Gerrie Koegelenberg (2), Kyle Kermis, Lehlohonolo Makhamba, Mario Vieira, Mfezeko Moyo, Thian Du Randt. Conversions: Vieira (5). Penalty:  Vieira.

Boland (22) – Tries: Austin Murtz, Lincoln Daniels, Rick Jordaan. Conversions: Keenan Lyle Williams (2). Penalty: Williams.
Pumas (19) – Tries: Hermanus de Jager Kruger, Jaco Joubert, Johannes Christoffel Pretorius. Conversions: John-Robert Charles Smith, Zander Joubert.

Griquas CD (14) – Try: Gerhard Gregory. Penalties: Kylan Griqua (3).
Leopards (12) – Tries: Izak Jonker, Lionel George. Conversion: Gerhard Fourie.

Namibia (29) – Tries: Chrischen Olivier, Enrique Pretorius, Gerbus Van Wyk, Wynand Breytenbach. Conversions: Delron Brandt (2). Penalty: Brandt.
Limpopo Blue Bulls (19) – Tries:  Danny Mokhoabane, Franco Van der Watt, Henk Van Zyl. Conversions: Chrizaan Strauss (3).

Blue Bulls (40) – Tries: Happiness Badise Peterson, Henk Pretorius, Hluma Zondani, Jack Hart, Rudolph De Lange. Conversions: Ruan De Swardt (3). Penalties: De Swardt (3).
SWD (19) – Tries: Bradley Kiewitz, Llyle Daine Metembo, Xavier Swartbooi. Conversions: Darren Adonis, Zinedene Booysen.

Photo: Lee Warren/ Gallo Images

Post by