Lowe to make Ireland debut

New Zealand-born Leinster wing James Lowe will make his Ireland debut in the Autumn Nations Cup Test against Wales in Dublin on Friday.

Lowe, who played for the Waikato Chiefs between 2014 and 2017, has been playing for Leinster for the past four years, qualifying to play for Ireland through the residency rule.

The 28-year-old has been included in Ireland’s starting lineup alongside another naturalised New Zealander in scrumhalf Jamison Gibson-Park, who will make his first start after playing his first two Tests off the bench in the Six Nations.

Ireland will once again be led by flyhalf Johnny Sexton, while Robbie Henshaw will play at inside centre and form the midfield partnership with Chris Farrell.

In the pack, Cian Healy and Andrew Porter are joined by Ronan Kelleher at hooker. Iain Henderson returns to the second row to partner James Ryan. In the back row Caelan Doris switches to No 8 with Peter O’Mahony, winning his 70th cap, at 6 and Josh van der Flier at 7.

The uncapped Billy Burns will be aiming for his first cap as he is named in the replacements alongside Conor Murray and the returning Keith Earls. South African-born lock Quinn Roux is also among the substitutes.

Ireland – 15 Jacob Stockdale, 14 Hugo Keenan, 13 Chris Farrell, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 James Lowe, 10  Johnny Sexton (c), 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 5 James Ryan, 4 Ian Henderson, 3 Andrew Porter, 2 Ronan Kelleher, 1 Cian Healy.
Subs: 16 Rob Heffernan, 17 Ed Byrne, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Quinn Roux, 20 Will Connors, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Billy Burns, 23 Keith Earls.

Photo: Harry Murphy/Sportsfile via Getty Images