Maties trounce Tuks

Maties scored five tries to beat Tuks 49-11 in Stellenbosch and secure a home Varsity Cup final against Pukke on 11 April. TYRONE ENGEL reports.

Maties, who last won the competition in 2010, led 29-11 at the break and also dominated the second half to book their place in the decider.

The hosts opened the scoring in the fourth minute when good hands sent winger Edwill van der Merwe over in the corner.

Flyhalf Ernst Stapelberg kicked the conversion and added a penalty before winger Brandon Asher-Wood scored their second try – a seven-pointer – after quick ball from the breakdown.

Stapelberg slotted another penalty to give Maties a 22-0 lead after 30 minutes, but Tuks hit back after the restart as Maties lock Wilhelm van der Sluys failed to hold on to the ball. The visitors sent the ball wide to centre Dries Swanepoel, who powered his way over for a nine-point try that flyhalf Joshua Stander converted.

Maties then scored their third try when flank and captain Beyers de Villiers dotted down after a strong lineout drive from 5m out.

Stapelberg kicked his third penalty early in the second half, before De Villiers went over for his second try after another lineout drive.

Maties kept Tuks pegged inside their own territory for much of the second half.

Scrumhalf Remu Malan scored their fifth try late in the match, darting over from close range after taking a quick penalty tap.

Stapelberg then slotted his fourth penalty to secure an emphatic win for the home side.

Maties – Tries: Edwill van der Merwe, Brandon Asher-Wood, Beyers de Villiers (2), Remu Malan. Conversions: Ernst Stapelberg (5). Penalties: Stapelberg (4).
Tuks – Tries: Dries Swanepoel. Conversion: Joshua Stander.

Maties – 15 Craig Barry, 14 Brandon Asher-Wood, 13 Paul Streicher, 12 Chris Smit, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Kobus van Wyk, 7 Janco Venter, 6 Beyers de Villiers (c), 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 JE van der Merwe, 2 Freddie Kirsten, 1 Niel Oelofse.
Subs: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Wesley Adonis, 18 Sidney Labuschagne, 19 Saud Abrahams, 20 Bjorn Bernardo, 21 Christopher Smith, 22 Carlisle Nel, 23 Johannes Kleinhans.

Tuks – 15 Duncan Matthews, 14 Riaan Britz, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Toko Maebane, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Joshua Stander, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Clyde Davids, 7 Frederic Eksteen, 6 Ruan Steenkamp (c), 5 Eli Snyman, 4 Aston Fortuin, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Corniel Els, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel.
Subs: 16 Frederick Binneman, 17 Stephanus Genis, 18 Pieter Jansen van Vuuren, 19 Luke van der Smit, 20 Carlo Engelbrecht, 21 Tinus de Beer, 22 Keanan van Wyk, 23 Justin Forwood.

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images