McCaw starts for Crusaders

The Crusaders have made five changes for their must-win match against the Waratahs in Sydney on Saturday.

Richie McCaw replaces Matt Todd at openside flank, while Luke Romano comes into the second row in place of Dominic Bird, who drops out of the match 23.

Up front, Owen Franks starts at tighthead prop, with Ben Funnell at hooker in place of Codie Taylor, who drops to the bench.

Mitchell Drummond has been selected at scrumhalf ahead of Andy Ellis, with fullback Israel Dagg set to make his return from a six-week injury layoff off the bench.

Meanwhile, Waratahs coach Michael Cheika has named an unchanged starting lineup for the match. There is one change to the bench, though, where loose forward Jack Dempsey replaces Tala Gray. 

Crusaders – 15 Tom Taylor, 14 Nafi Tuitavake, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Dan Carter, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Ben Funnell, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Subs: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Jimmy Tupou, 20 Matt Todd, 21 Andy Ellis, 22 Israel Dagg, 23 Jone Macilai.

Waratahs – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Stephan Hoiles, 5 Dave Dennis (c), 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs (one to be omitted): 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Mitchell Chapman, 20 Tala Gray, 21 Pat McCutcheon, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Matt Carraro, 24 Peter Betham.

Super Rugby teams (Round 15)

Photo: Martin Hunter/Getty Images

Post by