McMahon set for Wallabies debut

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has named uncapped Sean McMahon in his first Test selection for the match against Wales at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday.

McMahon was a standout performer against the Barbarians at the weekend, capping off his first senior appearance with a well taken try. The 20-year-old Melbourne Rebels flank is one of the success stories of the recently concluded NRC provincial competition, where he was named player of the tournament.

In the only other change to the side that did duty against the All Blacks in the Wallabies' last Test, Ben McCalman will start at No 8 in place of the injured Scott Higginbotham.

Former Wallabies skipper Will Genia has been named on the bench, where he was favoured over Nick White as the backup scrumhalf. Reds teammate Quade Cooper will make his first Test appearance of the year, should he make it onto the field.

The match against Wales is Australia’s second of their five-game tour, and will be followed by matches against France, Ireland and England.

Wallabies – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Christian Leali’ifano, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Saia Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper.
Subs (one to be omitted): 16 James Hanson, 17 Tetera Faulkner, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 James Horwill, 20 Will Skelton, 21 Matt Hodgson, 22 Will Genia, 23 Quade Cooper, 24 Rob Horne.

Photo: David Cannon/Getty Images