Nadolo to nail Uruguay

Fiji wing Nemani Nadolo will pose the biggest attacking threat to Uruguay in Milton Keynes on Tuesday. SIMON BORCHARDT reports.

Nadolo returns from a one-match ban, which he received for a dangerous tackle against the Wallabies. He was missed during Fiji's next fixture against Wales.

The 27-year-old will be hoping to make amends against Uruguay, who have also yet to win a match in the Pool of Death.

Los Teros have conceded a total of 19 tries in their two pool matches, against Wales and the Wallabies, so you wouldn't bet against Nadolo crossing the line at least once on Tuesday.

The winger is one of five changes to the Fijian side that pushed Wales all the way in Cardiff before losing 23-13, while Uruguay have made six changes to the starting XV that was thrashed 65-3 by Australia.

These two teams have only met on one previous occassion, in L'Aquila, Italy, in 1999, with the Fijians winning 39-24.

22 – Test caps
16 – Test tries
2 – Matches at this World Cup
5 – Carries over gainline
72 – Metres made
60 – Tackle success percentage

Fiji 1, Uruguay 0

Fiji – 15 Kini Murimurivalu, 14 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 13 Vereniki Goneva, 12 Lepani Botia, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Ben Volavola, 9 Nemia Kenatale, 8 Sakiusa Matadigo, 7 Akapusi Qera (c), 6 Dominiko Waqaniburotu, 5 Leone Nakarawa, 4 Apisalome Ratuniyarawa, 3 Leroy Atalifo, 2 Sunia Koto, 1 Campese Ma'afu.
Subs: 16 Viliame Veikoso, 17 Peni Ravai, 18 Taniela Koroi, 19 Tevita Cavubati, 20 Netani Talei, 21 Henry Seniloli, 22 Josh Matavesi, 23 Timoci Nagusa.

Uruguay – 15 Gaston Mieres, 14 Santiago Gibernau, 13 Joaquin Prada, 12 Andres Vilaseca, 11 Rodrigo Silva, 10 Alejo Duran, 9 Agustin Ormaechea, 8 Alejandro Nieto, 7 Matias Beer, 6 Juan Manuel Gaminara, 5 Jorge Zerbino, 4 Santiago Vilaseca (c), 3 Mario Sagario, 2 Carlos Arboleya, 1 Alejo Corral.
Subs: 16 German Kessler, 17 Oscar Duran, 18 Mateo Sanguinetti, 19 Mathias Palomeque, 20 Franco Lamanna, 21 Juan De Freitas, 22 Jeronimo Etcheverry, 23 Francisco Bulanti.

Referee: JP Doyle (England)
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Leighton Hodges (Wales)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

Photo: Stu Forster/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt