New faces for WP’s trip north

Western Province have included three new signings in their 24-man squad for the match against Saracens at Allianz Park on Sunday.

Coming on the back of their second Currie Cup title in three years, WP will take a strong squad to London to face last season's European Cup and Premiership runners-up.

Newcomers Bongi Mbonambi, Vincent Koch and Wilco Louw will all get their first taste of action in the blue and white hoops, while 16 of the team that defeated the Golden Lions in the Currie Cup final will feature.

Among them will be captain Juan de Jongh, who will join up with the squad after turning out for the Barbarians on Tuesday evening.

However, Springbok tourists Nizaam Carr and Seabelo Senatla will play no part.

Neither will Cheslin Kolbe, who has remained at home as part of an agreement with Saru. Kolbe is expected to be involved in the Sevens World Series tournaments in Dubai and Port Elizabeth in early December, before rejoining the Stormers for their buildup to the 2015 Super Rugby season.

The match will be broadcast on SuperSport 1 at 2:45pm.

Western Province squad – Manuel Carizza, Demetri Catrakilis, Kurt Coleman, Juan de Jongh (c), Rynhardt Elstadt, Gerbrandt Grobler, Nic Groom, Pat Howard, Oli Kebble, Jean Kleyn, Vincent Koch, Dillyn Leyds, Wilco Louw, Bongi Mbonambi, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Scarra Ntubeni, Michael Rhodes, Louis Schreuder, Jaco Taute, Michael van der Spuy, Jurie van Vuuren, Kobus van Wyk, Alistair Vermaak, EW Viljoen.

Photo: Barry Aldworth/BackpagePix