New-look Bulls to face Tahs

Rudy Paige and Tian Schoeman will return to the Bulls' starting lineup for Saturday's match against the Waratahs in Sydney.

Coach Nollis Marais has opted to field a new halfback combination after last weekend's loss to the Brumbies, with Paige and Schoeman rotating in for Piet van Zyl and Francois Brummer respectively. In other changes to the backline, Jamba Ulengo, who returned home from Perth before the Force match due to personal commitments, has since rejoined the team and will now start in place of the injured Travis Ismaiel on the wing.

Up front, Jason Jenkins has overcome an injury and will combine with regular lock partner RG Snyman, who replaces Marvin Orie. Jannes Kirsten is also back at flank in place of Arno Botha, who drops out of the match-day squad, while the final change sees Lizo Gqoboka selected at loosehead prop in place of Trevor Nyakane.

'The idea is to freshen up the squad a bit and go at the Waratahs with a slightly different team,' Marais said. 'They are formidable opponents and we owe it to ourselves to give it a good go in our final match on tour.'

Bulls – 15 SP Marais, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Lappies Labuschagne, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Subs: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Pierre Schoeman, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Roelof Smit, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Francois Brummer, 23 Dries Swanepoel.

Super Rugby teams (Round 12)

Photo: Johan Rynners/Gallo Images

Post by

Craig Lewis