New-look midfield for England

Luther Burrell and Jonathan Joseph will start in the England midfield against Wales in Cardiff on Friday.

The duo come in for Brad Barritt, who has been ruled out of the Six Nations with a knee injury, and Billy Twelvetrees, who has been relegated to the bench.

Joseph has had an excellent season for Bath, scoring six tries, and will earn his first Test cap since June 2013.

There are also four changes to the pack, with Dan Cole coming in for David Wilson at tighthead prop, lock George Kruis and blindside flanker James Haskell replacing injured duo Tom Wood and Courtney Lawes, and Billy Vunipola taking over at No 8 from Ben Morgan, who is recovering from a broken leg.

Flyhalf Danny Cipriani and loose forward Nick Easter are set to make their returns to Test rugby off the bench.

England – 15 Mike Brown, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 Jonny May, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Chris Robshaw (c), 6 James Haskell, 5 George Kruis, 4 Dave Attwood, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Joe Marler.
Subs: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Kieran Brookes, 19 Tom Croft, 20 Nick Easter, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Danny Cipriani, 23 Billy Twelvetrees.

Wales team

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt