Nine Boks in South Africa A squad

Utility back Ruan Combrinck is one of nine Test players who have been included in the South Africa A squad for their two-match series against the French Barbarians.

Combrinck, alongside fellow backs Jano Vermaak, Juan de Jongh, Lionel Mapoe, Francois Venter and Jamba Ulengo, and forwards Uzair Cassiem, Jean-Luc du Preez and Trevor Nyankane are the Springboks players that made the cut for the SA A team, that will again be coached by Johan Ackermann.

Other notable members in the 26-man squad include exciting youngsters Ox Nche, Thomas du Toit, Jason Jenkins, Chris Cloete, Andisa Ntsila and Makazole Mapimpi.

ALSO READ: Whiteley to captain Boks

'I think we have a brilliant mix of experienced players who have tasted what Test rugby is all about already, and very promising prospects youngsters who will be pushing for higher honours in the not too distant future,' said Bok coach Allister Coetzee.

'In my view, there is definitely a lot of value in having players with Test experience playing with these exciting prospects, who along with the Junior Springboks represent the future of South Arica rugby.'

South Africa A squad:

Forwards – Ruan Botha, Uzair Cassiem, Chris Cloete, Thomas du Toit, Andries Ferreira, Jason Jenkins, Wilco Louw, Jean-Luc du Preez, Franco Marais, Ox Nche, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Andisa Ntsila, Trevor Nyakane, Ramone Samuels.

Backs – Ruan Combrinck, Lionel Cronjé, Juan de Jongh, Warrick Gelant, Makazole Mapimpi, Lionel Mapoe, Dewaldt Duvenage, Jamba Ulengo, Francois Venter, Jano Vermaak, Harold Vorster, Fred Zeilinga.

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

Post by