Nonu named New Zealand’s best

All Blacks centre Ma'a Nonu won New Zealand's Player of the Year award in Auckland on Thursday.

The 33-year-old, who now plays for Toulon in France, edged out fellow World Cup winners Dan Carter, Dane Coles and Ben Smith to claim the prestigious Kelvin R Tremain award following a stellar year at both Super Rugby and Test levels. 

The All Blacks were named Team of the Year after successfully defending the World Cup in England, while Steve Hansen claimed the Coach of the Year prize. 

Winger Nehe Milner-Skudder scooped the Moari Player of the Year Award, to add to his World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year award. 

Flyhalf Lima Sopoaga, with a number of outstanding performances for the title-winning Highlanders, walked away with the Super Rugby Player of the Year accolade.

New Zealand Rugby awards winners:

Player of the Year: Ma'a Nonu
Team of the Year: All Blacks
Moari Player of the Year: Nehe Milner-Skudder
Coach of the Year: Steve Hansen
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Lima Sopoaga
Sevens Player of the Year: Scott Curry
Referee of the Year: Glen Jackson
New Zealand Cup Player of the Year: George Moala
Age Grade Player of the Year: Akira Ioane
Women's Player of the Year: Kendra Cocksedge
Women's Sevens Player of the Year: Tyla Nathan-Wong

Photo: Mike Hewitt/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams