Parsons leads depleted Blues

James Parsons will captain an injury-hit Blues team against the Hurricanes in Auckland on Saturday.

The hooker takes over the leadership role after injuries to previous captains Jerome Kaino and Steven Luatua.

Parsons forms a new front row with loosehead prop Sam Prattley, who replaces Tony Woodcock, and tighthead Ofa Tu’ungafasi, who comes in for Charlie Faumuina.

In other changes to the pack, Joe Edwards moves to No 8, to fill the gap left by Luatua, with Brendon O’Connor moving to blindside flank and Blake Gibson at openside.

The backline is unchanged.

Blues – 15 Lolagi Visinia, 14 Ben Lam, 13 Francis Saili, 12 George Moala, 11 Melani Nanai, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson, 6 Brendon O'Connor, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 4 Culum Retallick, 3 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 2 James Parsons (c), 1 Sam Prattley.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Angus Ta’avao, 18 Nic Mayhew, 19 Will Lloyd/Hayden Triggs, 20 Joe Edwards, 21 Jimmy Cowan, 22 Simon Hickey, 23 Matt Vaega.

Super Rugby teams (Round 15)

Photo: Hannah Peters/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt