Perenara admits ‘no try’

This past weekend’s clash between the Hurricanes and Jaguares featured a rare moment of player ‘decision-making’ when TJ Perenara openly told the referee he had not scored.

With the Hurricanes 23-12 down in the late stages of the game, Perenara looked to have come close to scoring a try after bundling over the tryline amid a pile of Jaguares players.

South African referee Rasta Rasivhenge seemed to have his view blocked, and asked: ‘Did you get it TJ?’, with the Canes captain promptly responding with a ‘No’.

Appearing a little taken aback, Rasivhenge thanked Perenara for his honesty.

‘That’s good leadership by you, thank you very much.”

ALSO READ: Hands off Rassie, says SA Rugby boss

*Have you signed up to our newsletter? Click here to join the thousands of readers who are part of our newsletter community.