This past weekend’s clash between the Hurricanes and Jaguares featured a rare moment of player ‘decision-making’ when TJ Perenara openly told the referee he had not scored.
With the Hurricanes 23-12 down in the late stages of the game, Perenara looked to have come close to scoring a try after bundling over the tryline amid a pile of Jaguares players.
South African referee Rasta Rasivhenge seemed to have his view blocked, and asked: ‘Did you get it TJ?’, with the Canes captain promptly responding with a ‘No’.
Appearing a little taken aback, Rasivhenge thanked Perenara for his honesty.
‘That’s good leadership by you, thank you very much.”
El Rugby es lindo pic.twitter.com/l203m0RASE
— pachiarocena (@pachiarocena) February 11, 2020
*Have you signed up to our newsletter? Click here to join the thousands of readers who are part of our newsletter community.