Wholesale changes for Pumas, Griquas unchanged

Pieter Jansen van Vuren will captain a new-look Pumas side, while Griquas have named an unchanged starting lineup for their clash in Kimberley on Saturday.

Pumas coach Jimmy Stonehouse has made a bunch of changes to his side following their 53-31 loss to the Cheetahs in the opening round of Super Rugby Unlocked last weekend.

GRAPHIC: Cheetahs vs Vodacom Bulls teams

The only players who will start again are Devon Williams (fullback), Wayne van der Bank (centre), Neil Maritz (left wing), Eddie Fouche (flyhalf), Ginter Smuts (scrumhalf), Willie Engelbrecht (flank), Ruan Kramer and Morgan Naude (both props).

The Pumas have lost captain Ryan Nell and vice-captain Le Roux Roets to injury, with Nell expected to miss the rest of the season. Therefore lock Pieter Janse van Vuren will lead the Pumas against a team he captained earlier in his career.

Jeandre Rudolph, back in Nelspruit after his stint with the Vodacom Bulls in Pretoria, will start at No 8, with Willie Engelbrecht moving to the side of the scrum where he will be joined by Francois Kleinhans.

Nell’s injury also forced a few changes to the backline, with Van der Bank moving to inside centre and Erich Cronje starting in the No 13 jersey for his debut, after joining the Pumas from the Southern Kings recently. Etienne Taljaard takes over from Luther Obi at right wing.

Meanwhile, Griquas coach Scott Mathie has been able to name an unchanged starting lineup from the one that was unlucky to lose 30-23 to the Bulls in Pretoria.

The only change to Griquas’ match-day 23 comes on the bench, where Andrew Beerwinkel replaces Bandisa Ndlovu as the replacement loosehead prop.

WATCH: ‘Du Preez will help Bulls scrumhalves fine-tune their game’

Pumas – 15 Devon Williams, 14 Etienne Taljaard, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Wayne van der Bank, 11 Neil Maritz, 10 Eddie Fouche, 9 Ginter Smuts, 8 Jeandre Rudolph, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren (c), 4 Darrien Landsburg, 3 Ruan Kramer, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Morgan Naude.
Subs: 16 HP van Schoor, 17 Liam Hendricks, 18 Heath Backhouse, 19 Phumzile Maqondwana, 20 Dian Badenhorst, 21 Neil Marais, 22 Ali Mgijima, 23 Dewald Maritz.

Griquas – 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 Harlon Klaasen, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 James Verity-Amm, 10 George Whitehead (c), 9 Zak Burger, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Carl Els, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Mox Mxoli.
Subs: 16 Alandre van Rooyen, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 Madot Mabokela, 19 Adre Smith, 20 Zandre Jordaan, 21 Gideon van der Merwe, 22 Ashlon Davids, 23 Berton Klaasen.

Photo: Gallo Images