Queensland set to host remaining Rugby Champs fixtures

Reports from New Zealand suggest that Sanzaar has reached an agreement that will have the Springboks, All Blacks and Argentina based in Queensland for their remaining Rugby Championship fixtures.

According to the New Zealand Herald, Sanzaar confirmed during a board meeting on Monday that Queensland would host the remaining Rugby Championship fixtures.

The third Bledisloe Cup Test between the All Blacks and Wallabies will be played in Perth on Saturday, 4 September.

The All Blacks will then depart for Queensland, where the Springboks and Argentina will have already been quarantining.

This follows a dramatic twist in the 2021 edition of the tournament, which was thrown into turmoil due to Covid-19 restrictions in Australia and New Zealand.

In a statement, New Zealand Rugby (NZR) unilaterally announced the All Blacks’ two home Rugby Championship Tests against South Africa will not be played in New Zealand, and that the All Blacks would not be flying to Perth for the third Bledisloe Cup Test which was originally scheduled to be played at Optus Stadium on 28 August.

The Springboks were originally scheduled to play the Wallabies twice in Australia and then move on to face the All Blacks in Dunedin – the 100th clash between the two sides – and Auckland. Those fixtures now appear to be taking place in Queensland.

There has been talk that the rest of the Rugby Championship could be hosted in South Africa – where the Springboks and Argentina are currently based or make the groundbreaking move to Europe.


Photo: Getty Images

Post by

Dylan Jack