Reinach nominated for Try of the Year

Cobus Reinach’s hat-trick try against Canada has been shortlisted as one of the four best tries of the year ahead of the World Rugby Awards on Sunday.

READ: Reinach was unaware of record

WATCH: Reinach’s highlights against Canada

The Springbok scrumhalf ended off a superb team effort that began with Elton Jantjies’ inch-perfect kick-pass for winger Warrick Gelant from inside his own 22m.

Gelant evaded wing DTH van der Merwe, and moved forward into Canada’s half before centre Damian de Allende kept the move going. De Allende then found Reinach, who completed the try which also ensured his hat-trick with barely 20 minutes played.

Nominated tries:

Charles Ollivon (France against Wales in the quarter-final)

Sergio Parisse (Italy in a warm-up match against Russia)

TJ Perenara (New Zealand against Namibia)

The winner will be announced at the World Rugby Awards in Tokyo on Sunday, 3 November.

The four tries were selected by the IRP Try of the Year panel of former players in Rugby World Cup-winners Fiao’o Faamausili and Bryan Habana along with Jamie Heaslip and Thierry Dusautoir.

International Rugby Players’ representative Conrad Smith, the former All Black and Rugby World Cup winner who chaired the Try of the Year panel, said: ‘There were some excellent scores this year and our job to pick a shortlist was a difficult one.

‘From the men’s and women’s Six Nations in early 2019 all the way through to the Rugby World Cup in Japan, we saw some amazing efforts during the year. These tries really are a testament to the quality of international rugby and the skills on display out there and this sparked some great debate among the panel.’


2018: Brodie Retallick (New Zealand) – New Zealand vs Australia

2017: Joaquín Tuculet (Argentina) – Argentina vs England

2016: Jamie Heaslip (Ireland) – Ireland vs Italy

2015: Julian Savea (New Zealand) – New Zealand vs France

2014: Francois Hougaard (South Africa) – South Africa vs New Zealand

2013: Beauden Barrett (New Zealand) – New Zealand vs France

2012: Bryan Habana (South Africa) – South Africa vs New Zealand

2011: Radike Samo (Australia) – Australia vs New Zealand

2010: Chris Ashton (England) – England vs Australia

2009: Jaque Fourie (South Africa) – South Africa vs British & Irish Lions

2008: Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland) – Australia vs Ireland

2007: Takudzwa Ngwenya (USA) – South Africa vs USA

Photo: Steve Haag Sports via Hollywoodbets