Revamped WP to face Cheetahs

Coach John Dobson has made seven changes to the Western Province team ahead of Friday's match against the Cheetahs in Cape Town.

In the backline, Jaco Taute will start at fullback ahead of Scott van Breda, Kobus van Wyk replaces the injured Khanyo Ngcukana on the right wing, Johnny Kotze comes in for centre Dan du Plessis and Brandon Thomson takes over the flyhalf channel from Robert du Preez.

Up front, Sikhumbuzo Notshe's release from the Springbok squad sees him start at eighthman, while Kobus van Dyk gets the nod at flank. Lock JD Schickerling is ill and he is replaced by Jan de Klerk.

Fullback Cheslin Kolbe makes his return from the Blitzboks to provincial rugby via the bench and JC Janse van Rensburg is also drafted into the match 22 as cover for the injured Oli Kebble.

Western Province – 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Brandon Thomson, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Chris van Zyl (c), 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Subs: 16 Martin Ferreira, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 JP Smith, 19 Jurie van Vuuren, 20 Godlen Masimla, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Cheslin Kolbe.

Photo: Johan Pretorius/Gallo Images

Post by